I Recommend Pleasant

In the play (and movie) “Harvey” the main character says something that I love:

‘Years ago my mother used to say to me, she’d say, “In this world, Elwood, you must be” – she always called me Elwood – “In this world, Elwood, you must be oh so smart or oh so pleasant.” Well, for years I was smart. I recommend pleasant. You may quote me.’

That is why I was delighted when I was offered the chance to have a showing of my glass-on-glass mosaics at the Chemainus Theatre during the month in which they are performing “Harvey.”  What a wonderful opportunity!  A vintage whimsical play and mosaics — as whimsical as I can make them — from recycled vintage glass. There are 23 of my glass pieces in the exhibit.

Here’s one that I titled “I Recommend Pleasant”. It’s 16” by 29”, has zinc edges (thank you Deryk) and is built on a piece of glass shelving that was in our bathroom closet until just a few days ago (we are in the middle of a reno.)  Blue dots burst out of a heart-embossed blue bottle. The world is surrounded with colours from the forest and sky and sun. There are flowers and shells – even a bee and a lizard.  Things you might notice if you have a chance to relax outdoors on a summer’s day, as Elwood often does….

I need to take a good backlit photo of this piece – as it would appear if you hung it in your window. For now, hopefully these will give you the idea.

 

Here’s more information about the show:

http://www.twoglassyladies.ca/?p=9556

http://chemainustheatrefestival.ca/plan-your-visit/gallery-gift-shop/current-exhibition

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

