Non-secateur

Secateur

Okay Miss Vicky – the bad pun in the title of this posting is for YOU!

But the post is really about harvesting sage. We have a LOT of it! It smells amazing as I clip it and I’m pretty sure that breathing that fragrance truly does clear my mind 🙂

As they say, “sage advice“…

Here are photos. Yesterday I harvested a few leaves each from about 30 of our 500 plants. It was really only a slight tidying of those plants. I just clipped a few bits that were sticking up and the plants I worked with still look very full. That gave me about five full grocery bags (11 racks in the drying room). So, there’s more available for sure!

sagelavenderfragrantsage viewfromBarnAug25  labyrinthsageAug25 sagewithGatesofOpportunity elizharvestingsage

dryingroomsageontray

I really should do the rest – it will help the plants form a full round shape, rather than get leggy and tall.

Leave a Reply

