Local Colour – an art exhibition with Deryk Houston and Elizabeth Wellburn

“Local Colour” is the name of the exhibition that Deryk and I will have for the month of August in the fabulous Sooke Harbour House.

Beautiful Soft Folds - acrylic painting by Deryk Houston

Beautiful Soft Folds – acrylic painting by Deryk Houston – $2000

Deryk will show several of his acrylic paintings (including this one, called “Beautiful Soft Folds.”)

“Local Colour” is an exhibition title that suits us both.

Thank Your Lucky Stars  (glass on glass mosaic)

Thank Your Lucky Stars (glass on glass mosaic)

Much of Deryk’s work is inspired by nature and the lush fertility of our great West Coast – he truly does depict the colors seen locally and he has an amazing feeling for movement and vibrancy.

More about Deryk’s work at: http://derykhouston.com/

See: a web page of all of Deryk’s paintings in the exhibition.

 

 

My work is made from recycled glass which I collect from friends, nearby thrift stores and yard sales. I love broken chunks and I melt individual pieces in the kiln so they are flat enough to adhere to my base glass — windows discarded from heritage houses that I use as my canvas. I think I am preserving some of the local colour as well and I am always inspired by the stories behind the discarded glass. I may not exactly knowthat those now-chipped amber water goblets were someone’s treasure back in 1960, but I can guess that there was a day when they got put in a box and sent to charity. When I flatten them and add them to a mosaic, I feel like I am giving them a new life.

Autumn Sonata - glass on glass mosaic

Autumn Sonata – glass on glass mosaic

I will exhibit about seven or eight glass-on-glass mosaics, including my latest pieces: “Autumn Sonata” and “Thank Your Lucky Stars” (as usual, these are named after movies).

More about my work at
http://glass-on-glass.ning.com/

Sooke Harbour House is a fantastic location. We are delighted that they will be showcasing our work. So, if you’re in that area during August, please drop in. The gallery can be viewed by anyone who comes by. You don’t have to be a guest of the hotel or restaurant, but you can count yourself among the lucky if you *do* happen to be there for a meal or a vacation. It truly is “world class.”

Leave a Reply

