Educating the Heart and Mind

I wish I was in Vancouver today to hear Sir Ken Robinson again (I went to a session at UBC about two years ago and LOVED seeing him in person.)

His topic today will be ‘Educating the Heart and Mind’. I think this article gives what is probably a pretty good outline:

http://blogs.vancouversun.com/2011/08/23/tips-for-teachers-from-sir-ken-robinson/

and includes a quote from Sir Ken that I like a lot:

“…teachers have to take care of their own creativity. They have to enjoy what they do. It’s like any job – if you enjoy it, then you’ll overcome all kinds of obstacles. But if you feel it’s drudgery to start with, then you’re probably better not doing it. So my second suggestion is, are you sure you’re doing the right thing? Is this the life you want? Is this the job you want? Some people love it and some people don’t. People who don’t love it are often not terribly good at it in the long run. They’re not bad people, they’re just not good teachers. They should do something else. But if you are interested, then treat your art form seriously. Take time to study techniques of teaching, look at other teachers, be prepared to have people come and look at you, and do what people in other fields do: Be open to criticism and be open to learning and growing. If you’re a writer, you spend time reading other people’s work, you’re in the public domain, people will comment and you’ll be self-critical. It’s true if you’re a musician or a scientist. Often teachers end up living in their own world because that’s how schools work, so open yourself up to collaboration and be prepared to learn and take risks and challenges.”

2 Responses to Educating the Heart and Mind

  1. leebrent says:

    I cannot even fathom what it would be like to see Ken Robinson in person! I love his ideas and depth of thinking as it relates to Education!

    Perhaps he will come to the island one day! πŸ™‚

  2. He’s really nice. I got him to sign his book for me, and he took the time to ask what I did for a living and where I came from. I guess he knows that Victoria is a ferry ride from Vancouver, and since the session was at noon (in the Chan Center) he figured I must have done some traveling that day. Imagine his voice, and hear these words “what time did you get up to be able to be here today?” I told him it was 5:00 am (which it was — anyone here who knows the dreaded 7am ferry knows that an early alarm clock is required) and he seemed absolutely delighted that I would have made such an effort. Believe me the effort was worth it!

Leave a Reply

